Opinions on Microsoft buying Mojang

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

sqitchy

Jul 29, 2019
I won't say it's game over for Minecraft. It's most likely quite the opposite. Also just modding and adding plugins to MC was child's play. I am no advanced programmer, but making a FTB cauldron Monster server with plugins was extreamly easy. Any error was just process of elimination with a bit of research. I guess it's time to get with the times and advance in your programming skills. Unless your the ones actually programming the mod or plugins existence. You people are amazing. I want to take some online classes to create stuff like that.

jaquadro

Jul 29, 2019
You must be really naive person to believe in this statement. Sure they will not change for now until dust calms down. But later, in next few years, they can still flip the switch. Like they did with Xbone (first they were saying that you need internet to use Xbone, 1 week later they were saying that you don't need internet to use it).

It's unbelievable that people are still trust such big company as M$ and others. Man, look what Notch did ...

Just saying ...
If it takes them a few years to do anything nasty, I'll consider that a pretty good run. How long did it take Notch to break your trust? I'd consider it naive to believe any company will uphold all of its promises forever. It doesn't matter how big or small or what their history is.

One of my favorite statements on this is "Forever is a really long time", by Mathew Mecham when he turned Invision Board into a company and started charging for it, something that he once upon a time promised would be free forever. Change happens.

Reactions: NunoAgapito

dothrom

Jul 29, 2019
If we can't find or create a suitable successor for Minecraft in a few years from now, added to the few years we've already had, we've got issues bigger than who owns the game we're playing.

Reactions: RedBoss and Hambeau