Opinion: Why I think some mod authors should think twice about their new content

frederikam

Jul 29, 2019
Please read the entire post before posting!

This initial post has been rewritten to cover most of what people has been asking me as of this writing.

When I started playing Minecraft in early beta, I quickly got into the mods Buildcraft and Industrialcraft. These two mods works very well together in harmony. Industrialcraft delivered the machines and Buildcraft delivered the transport functionality. I later was introduced to a wide variety of mods, like Forestry and EE2. These two mods also adds unique functionality and works very well with the other mods.​
I then get introduced into this new mod called ThermalExpansion, and what it had at that point was a few machines like the pulverizer and the furnaces (and a few other). Most content was fine but what started to bother me was the fact that the pulverizer and the furnaces was much like the furnaces and the macerator from IC2 in that they do the same processes, but they run on MJ instead of EU. What I liked about both EU and MJ was the fact that they were used for different purposes. MJ was for foresty and buildcraft processing as well as several farms, while EU was more used for IC2 processing. It bothered me that you could do this kind of processing for both types of energy. As suggested lower on this page by Vauthil, and I agree with him, that it would be neat to see TE introduce a completely new type of energy, so we can preserve that kind of different functionality between MJ and EU, although that might seem like a lot of work. And to clarify I do like the rest of the content that this mod adds.​