Taking on a Large Hollow Hill

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

Daemonblue

Jul 29, 2019
So, on my latest world I managed to spawn my Twilight Forest portal quite literally next to a large hollow hill. I've managed to kill a few of those wraiths and even found the spawner, but sadly apparently soul shards don't seem to work on TF mobs.

Anyway, any tips on how to take on this mob fest? I'm currently rocking a chainsaw, some nano leggings, and some gear I got off of a blacksmith's chest when I started the world. This is my first time actually playing with TF rather than just checking it out in creative.

kevinthedude2000

Jul 29, 2019
my advice: Light it up completely before doing anything else! Just run madly around placing torches everywhere, then kill the mobs that spawned before you light it. You now have a ton of spawners/ores to mess around with. Also, dont destroy the spawners. Just deactivate them with torches. Endermen and wrait spawners are very useful.

ATJ

Jul 29, 2019
Nano leggings on their own won't do anything. You need to be wearing all 4 pieces for it to work.

raiju

Jul 29, 2019
I tend to not go into a large hill until iron armor +, then I'll begin by lighting up the perimeter before making my way inwards. Fairly simply if you don't get cocky and just ignore the ores until you feel fairly safe. The moment you aren't looking is the moment a pincer beetle jumps you into lava (it was hilarious to see happen to a friend though)

Daemonblue

Jul 29, 2019
Yea, I had started working my way towards some of the outer chests via tunneling around the perimeter of the lower base, but then had a beetle shoot fire at me o_O.