Can someone recommend me a good BuildCraft energy setup?

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

Phantomizer

Jul 29, 2019
Right now i have a set of 9 Electrical Engines, but unfortunately they use quite a lot of energy, so until i upgrade to the Advanced or maybe even the Hybrid Solar Panels, they suck up a lot of the EU from my MFSUs and i can't have them running 24/7 like i would like to, so that i can have a more efficient Forestry setup.

Can anyone recommend me some setups? I'm currently trying to get a Steam Engine setup going, but i'm having trouble generating fuel/water fast enough to keep everything running constantly.

Thanks!

Dackstrus

Jul 29, 2019
I'd also like to see a good first build BC power system, Ultimate pack.
I've never done real BC power before, I always built up in IC's EU and converted back in the day. I hav'nt worked long enough on a world to really get any sort of power system going since FTB became a widly known thing.
My join date is my join date on FTB in general so. been that long at least.

DoctorOr

Jul 29, 2019
Electrical engines suck, without a doubt. Since you're using Ultimate, you can use a bridge to convert EU to MJ at a better ratio.

However, the best direct MJ production, in order of preference
1) Boilers burning Fuel
2) Boilers burning charcoal or planks cut with a sawmill (6:1 output)
3) Boilers burning biofuel
4) Biogas burning biomass
5) Hobbyist or TE steam engine burning charcoal or planks.

Note you need 29 biogas, or 36 hobbyist steam or 72 TE steam engines to match a single 36HP boiler with 18 attached engines.

Peppe

Jul 29, 2019
Electrical engines suck, without a doubt. Since you're using Ultimate, you can use a bridge to convert EU to MJ at a better ratio.

However, the best direct MJ production, in order of preference
1) Boilers burning Fuel
2) Boilers burning charcoal or planks cut with a sawmill (6:1 output)
3) Boilers burning biofuel