Texture Artists

CyanideX

Jul 29, 2019
I think that's a great idea. :) However, I would request specifically that I get the "Artist Whore of the Modding Community" banner.

2J6pRlS.png

Last edited:

Maxiride

Jul 29, 2019
As a side question, this stuff of making textures sounds interesting. I'm a Photographer (for real, not Instagram like stuff -.-) and I know Photoshop quite deeply. However I know nothing about modding, Java etc, I play FTB purely as a end-user gamer knowing zero about the "under the hood", so my question is, except for the resolution of the textures which is straightforward, which are the characteristics of a mod texture pack?
  • format? (.tiff, .png, .gif ecc) - .png
  • weight (50kB, 1Mb...) - found always around 2kB, the heviest I found is the water flow 600kB
  • is each item\entitie a sum of images of each side or is a 3d object build in some way after a editing it in Photoshop? - How the hell are mobs "folded" from the image xD, also I did not understood the logic of the organization in the folders of a texture pack, some textures are with the patterns and vice-versa.
  • range of colors usable?
  • color profile?
  • anything I'm missing?

Edit: Did some research by myself in the while.

Last edited:

VapourDrive

Jul 29, 2019
It uses the RGB colour space and on that accepts anything on the range. Alpha doesn't work unless the image is specifically rendered with it in mind. Other than that, all guis need to be 256x256.

Reactions: Maxiride

Lomeli12

Jul 29, 2019
Could I get textures for obsidian surrounded by iron, gold, redstone, lapis, diamond, emerald?

Wolfie_Waffle

Jul 29, 2019
Well, someone said they needed a hammer and chisel. I'm not really a texture artist, but you can use this texture I made if you want:

Attachments

• hammer.png
    hammer.png
    407 bytes · Views: 134

dustin heisey

Jul 29, 2019
Hey guys so moders can request textures here? lol that is awesome if this thread is still active i could really use its help