Your Mob Traps/Grinders

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

Salamileg9

Jul 29, 2019
I'm absolutely obsessed with Soul Shard mob grinders. In fact, on many FTB servers I've gone to I've made that my entire business. However, I want to create some more creative and more complicated than they need to be grinders, as doing the same thing over and over again gets boring. So I want to see your Mob Grinders for inspiration. I've been thinking about using SC2 turret carts, but I'm not sure if that would be efficient at all.

zorn

Jul 29, 2019
Im just getting into mob grinders. What do you farm that is useful though? ive read that you need to use deployers to get minium shards? And other than those, ender pearls and blaze rods are useful, but what do you do with the more simple mod drops? Bone meal is handy but I cant see wanting a chest full of it. String, spider eyes, zombie skin... not really useful in mass quantities.

So what do you farm for?

Salamileg9

Jul 29, 2019
I farm for Pigmen, Skellies, Creepers, and Blazes. I've used most types in the past, but those four are what I use most often. I've never used Deployers in a farm before, but melee turtles drop them as well. And all that stuff that you have no use for can either be processed into UU matter or simply shot into a Void Pipe. If you ever get any armor/weapons that you don't want (Not counting Bows or Stone Swords) I suggest putting them into an alloy furnace for their materials. On a server I just started on, I created a Pigman farm that's probably the least efficient in history, but is extremely fun. Pigmen drop down a hole, into a 2*1*1 hole filled with water. Then, a piston pushes, blocking them in. Then they all drown simultaneously with one hideous shriek.

I've also been trying to find a good layout for a Ghast farm, without any luck.

natnif36

Jul 29, 2019
For ghasts, high energy pellets from Portal gun will work wonders.