Should I give up on FTB?

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

WAFFLE OF WAR

Jul 29, 2019
Sorry if the title doesn't fit the forum topic, but the content should;

So I've been playing FTB for a few days now and I'm really struggling. The mod just seems too difficult and I wonder how others have done it. It seems like everything that I need to progress, in my eyes, requires one thing, but I can't make that one thing because I need it to get the materials to craft another thing which I can't make because... it just continues on like that and I'm really stuck. I'm self taught as of now, but I don't want to spend hours watching videos. I've tried joining servers, but that doesn't work. Anyways, is FTB always this hard to start up?

Golrith

Over-Achiever
Trusted User
Nov 11, 2012
Which pack have you started out with. If you've tried Ultimate or Mindcrack, those will be a lot more difficult due to mainly GregTech mod and some config settings. Try out DW20 pack instead.

Also, have you tried watching some Let's Play's on YouTube? Some, like Direwolf20 have good single player playthroughs that really help understand how things work. Even the first few episodes of his current series will give you a power source and some machines for processing. From that small seed, great things will grow.

Guswut

Jul 29, 2019
Anyways, is FTB always this hard to start up?

No, it is not. The first time will be difficult if you allow yourself to try and do everything at once.

Instead, you need to focus on one mod, such as Industrial Craft 2, Red Power 2, BuildCraft, Thermal Expansion, or ThaumCraft, and then stick with that until you get settled.