New to Mods/Overwhelmed

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

Hoss9424

Jul 29, 2019
Ok, so I am new to modding. I am 31 years old and play minecraft with my kids. I have played around with the Tech World 2 modpack, but quite frankly, it overwhelms me. Overall, the pack seems very interesting, but I am having trouble taking all that in. My thought was to maybe create a base modpack with all the essentials, and then mabe add in one or two mods at the time to learn them all. Can anyone tell me how to go about doing something like that?

Edit: After reading advice in this thread, I have decided to take off with the Direwolf20 pack and play a little along and learn what I can. Thanks for all the advice!

Last edited:

Tepig4321

Jul 29, 2019
1. Dont use a 1.6 modpack like Tech World 2.
2. I would suggest starting out with FTB Lite3 to get started.
3. After you get the hang of those mods, switch to Direwolf20 or FTB Infinity Pack.

ParAdoX83

Jul 29, 2019
I'd say all modpacks with HQM (Hardcore Questing Mod). They tend to give a clue what is a reasonable next step/goal

Tepig4321

Jul 29, 2019
I'd say all modpacks with HQM (Hardcore Questing Mod). They tend to give a clue what is a reasonable next step/goal
I would to tend to agree with you but generally a modpack with HQM is hard.
You can watch Direwol20's Let's Play, he guides through stuff and explains it pretty well.
Totally. He has a pack and he does an LP on it.

Cosmology27

Jul 29, 2019
Agree with everyone saying to watch Direwolf20.
But if you really want to make your own modpack, and slowly add to it, then what you do is get 1.7.10 going, install the latest stable Forge to your 1.7.10 game, (there are instructional videos on how to do this, there's even an installer for you, super easy).
Then just throw in a mod or two at a time to try them out.