Is energy from lava appropriate?

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

How do you feel about current methods to process energy from lava?

• Total voters

raiju

Jul 29, 2019
Ok so it's been happening more and more recently, comments about processing energy from lava are spilling in to a lot of threads (especially about gregtech)

Now I will note that while I want this thread to apply to all the relevant FTB packs as much as possible - I do play mindcrack with gregtech on hardmode so my knowledge of the non-gregtech information may be out of date or plain incorrect!

Anyway, personally I feel that lava generation is out of hand and all round the board it needs to be made more complex. I admit I am not very good at polls but I feel it would be an easy way for possible lurkers to throw in their opinion too as the like system isn't used too often.

Your opinions? All opinions are valid even if your knowledge will is incomplete! I have made the poll public for the purposes of separating gregtech where required from the crowd - it would be helpful if you could add what pack/mods you are playing and any relevant config changes.

Sphinx2k

Jul 29, 2019
I think [Something else] needs changing (please specify in your post)

So. I personally see lava from the nether as to overpowered. On its own if you drain a normal lava lake underground it is fine i think. You need the relocate your pumpe if the small amount is drained. But with Enderchest/Mystcraft mass Lava movement from the Nether it is a to cheap and easy to get source of energie.

MavericK96

Jul 29, 2019
It is a pretty ridiculously easy way to get a TON of energy, even early-game...but I don't think it's completely broken. Lava isn't completely infinite, after all...

...well...I guess it kind of is, you can just expand your Nether world indefinitely. But you still have to move around your pumping system after awhile.

nevakanezah

Jul 29, 2019