How can a rookie evolve in FTB?

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

Trond007

Jul 29, 2019
Hi, I'm new to FeedTheBeast, but not so much to Minecraft, and I've been watching a few videos on Youtube about FTB and what you can do with it, and it looks awesome, but I don't know how to evolve as I play FTB.
Like is there a goal about FTB or is FTB a sandbox? Anyway as I played a bit FTB I don't know how to progress, like I gather stuff like I would do when playing Minecraft survival mode, but it seems I have to figure out on my own where to go from there, and I just don't know what I should or can build so I can evolve and prosper. There are no hints/tips or manuals as I play. I only know I can build a lot of stuff, but not when I should build what, and I don't know what all of that stuff does as I hit the 'e'-button in-game. Someone please guide me here :)

cheechako

Jul 29, 2019
Like is there a goal about FTB or is FTB a sandbox?

In this case, FTB is exactly like vanilla - the answer is: it depends. (On the server, the group, the play style, etc.)

p.s. Watch more Let's Play and whatnot. AFAIK, one of the first goals in FTB is ore-doubling (Pulverizer, Macerator, etc.)

Jammyjezza

Jul 29, 2019
to learn more about the mods, you're best off either checking the guide section of the forum, or watching youtubers play FTB to glean information from them.

quantumllama

Jul 29, 2019
Enigmius1 is pretty amazing, especially when it comes to making practical stuff look good. I approve!

Pokefenn

Jul 29, 2019
no you need a direstone
Problem is if you use a direstone then you are dire type, which is weak to endertypes (which is all the rage today), i suggest you either become a athame type (silver) or a water type using either the Silver or Waterstone since t hey are super effective to ender!

Chocorate

Jul 29, 2019