Best way to mine?

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

Piemaker

Jul 29, 2019
I'm a bit new to all of this and have recently been trying to figure out what the best mining method is?
Is it quarrys, mining turtle etc.
Also if there is any automated mining system, that would be cool. ;P

Edit:Like set up and forget forever mining system.

drazath

Jul 29, 2019
Qurries and mining turtles are an option, yes. They aren't truly 'forget forever' systems, since you'd still need to move them to new mining areas and make sure they have power to operate. I find that they work better on a server that runs 24/7, since you can designate a large area and let them work their own pace (as opposed to single player where you probably won't be running the game all the time).

There's really no beating good ol' manual mining when it comes to speed and efficiency, however. I prefer the mining laser personally because it destroys stone instantly, and it's clearing away the stone that normally takes a lot of your time when mining. The horizontal mode is great for quick mine shafts, then just switch to low-focus mode once you hit the ore veins (tho I'd still recommend a drill/pickaxe for rare stuff like diamonds, since even in low-focus mode there's a small chance that the laser destroys the target completely).

And of course then there's the dense ore ages from Mystcraft, but that's up to you if you want to utilize them (the ore spawns get pretty insane after you stack a few of those symbols into a single age).

Piemaker

Jul 29, 2019
Ok Ok, I see.
Thanks. I'll prob get quarrys and mine also at the same time.
I don't know too much about Mystcraft, but I heard those symbols are really rare.

Zica

Jul 29, 2019
Ok Ok, I see.
Thanks. I'll prob get quarrys and mine also at the same time.
I don't know too much about Mystcraft, but I heard those symbols are really rare.