Digging a really, really big hole...

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

TimF

Jul 29, 2019
Hi all

I've been planning a new project on my SMP server. I need to dig out a fairly huge room (to make a huge dwarven hall, like the great pillared hall from the Mines of Moria in the Lord of the Rings films). To accommodate the size and number of pillars I want, it's going to need to be something like 350 blocks long buy 220 wide by 100 tall.

That works out at a slightly daunting 7.7 million blocks to shift... Even with a decent TC hammer, I can't face doing that by hand! Can anyone suggest the best way to clear that sized space as quickly and easily as possible? I'm just starting out on the new server, so I don't have any substantial infrastructure or power sources yet.

So far I've been considering:

- quarries (about 20 of them each digging a 64x64 space fully powered would clear the room in a day, but that's a lot of investment.)
- turtles (some programmes apparently let me just give the turtle the dimensions and let him go. I guess it'll take a long time, but that doesn't matter too much if I can just leave it running for a week. It'll need a lot of coal!)
- Bound Pickaxe. (I gather that its unbound mode clears an enormous space at once, which sounds ideal, but I can't find out exactly how much it clears. Is this controllable enough to be useable, and does it require unfeasible amounts of blood power?)

I'd be very grateful for comments on any of the above, or any better ideas. Ideally I'd like to keep everything I dig up (well, all the ores at least) but I could live with something that just clears it and destroys the blocks if it was much quicker. I'd also really like a method that lets me leave certain spaces uncleared, to form the basis of the huge pillars, but again I'm willing to just clear the room and build the pillars afterwards if need be.

Thanks

Tim

hotblack desiato

Jul 29, 2019