Workflow guide?

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

williewillus

Jul 29, 2019
Hey guys I'm new to FTB (and modded MC in general)
Is there any specific order you guys recommend to proceed through the various mods?
If any of you play StarCraft, it's kind of like build lists (what to build when)
e.g. when you get redstone, do this, when you get that, do that, etc. etc.
Thanks!

Bibble

Jul 29, 2019
One of the main points of the mod is that there are a number of ways to do it.

IC2 was my first way, but I've recently been trying thermal expansion, with railcraft steam as the power.

As a general guideline, I'd advise working towards an ore-doubling system, then self-sufficient power.

Reactions: MCJinzha

williewillus

Jul 29, 2019
Back in Tekkit, I would always do EE2 first to get unlimited resources and then develop from there.
Now, without that, I'm thinking IC2 solars first? Or maybe Thermal Expansion lava energy or Forestry Engines + BuildCraft

Darlock Ahe

Jul 29, 2019
Magma crucibles + geothermals + magma engines make a very good combo for starting power generation. This system will be almost self sustaining (except need for netherrack) and will cover your basic energy needs.
Afterwards you can automate it with railcraft or enderchests, making it 99% self sustaining.

SilvasRuin

Jul 29, 2019
I could write a whole page of chronological tips to follow for an efficient progression, but I'm going to trust you can look up for yourself anything I mention you don't understand.

Take care of necessities and things on the surface first, such as establishing farms for the basic renewable resources and food. Keep in mind that Books are valuable in FTB. So is Clay, and starting on gathering Bees (use a Scoop) early won't hurt either, especially if you can steal some Apiaries from a village. It's never too early to get a Coke Oven started.