RAM allocation

dedbbs

Jul 29, 2019
As much as you can spare. If you're running it on a linux box with no gui and nothing else major running, you could probably give it 7GB. If you're running it with Windows XP and only doing ordinary computing tasks, you'd probably get away great with 6.5GB. If you're running Vista/7 and going to be gaming while the server is running, maybe 4GB.

Strubinator

Jul 29, 2019
Imma go and piggy back this thread, its a similar question.
If the OS is caching a certain amount of ram, and you allocate more than that, will it use the OS cache? I have 64gb ram, 20gb allocated by minecraft servers and whatnot, and the rest is OS cache. The cache has slowly been increasing day by day, and I dont know if that will be a problem. It doesnt appear to be counted in the ram usage, but I was told that the yellow bar was OS cache. Im a computer science student, but havent covered OS's yet.
htop.PNG

dedbbs

Jul 29, 2019
Imma go and piggy back this thread, its a similar question.
If the OS is caching a certain amount of ram, and you allocate more than that, will it use the OS cache? I have 64gb ram, 20gb allocated by minecraft servers and whatnot, and the rest is OS cache. The cache has slowly been increasing day by day, and I dont know if that will be a problem. It doesnt appear to be counted in the ram usage, but I was told that the yellow bar was OS cache. Im a computer science student, but havent covered OS's yet.View attachment 2818