Opis Map Writer

Discussion in 'Mod Discussion' started by UniZero, Dec 13, 2013.

  1. UniZero

    UniZero Popular Member

    I have just started using the direwolf20 1.6.4 pack which includes Opis Map writer and I have noticed something which I don't know if it is a bug or something else.

    I am the sort of person that when I create a world I tend to run around, like most people I assume, and look for a suitable place to setup shop and if I don't find somewhere I like I usually just delete the world and start again.

    So the problem is that if you delete the world then create a new one with the same name when you get into the new world the map has everything you discovered from the previous world still there. If you do this multiple times then you have a pretty screwed up map.

    To stop this I deleted the "map writer sp worlds" folder from inside the saves folder.
     
  2. xSeaBiscuit

    xSeaBiscuit New Member

    This is intended, how else would the mini map be able to render the same when you log back into your world?
     
  3. UniZero

    UniZero Popular Member

    No I deleted the world and created a new world not loaded up the old one.
     
  4. xSeaBiscuit

    xSeaBiscuit New Member

    I know, but it had the same name. Opis doesn't override the existing mappings, but rather keeps the old one. Only way to fix this is name your world something else or delete those mapping every time you plan on loading a world w/ the same name.
     
  5. UniZero

    UniZero Popular Member

    Ok it seems strange that if you delete your world that it still keeps the map data. Oh well I suppose I will just delete the data then.
     
  6. DeathGoth

    DeathGoth New Member

    It works kinda like Dynmap does for server(Not sure if Dynmap is SSP) anyway what it does it it takes pictures of the world... then it saves the image in a file.. So when you delete your world the images are stored elsewhere(I am using voxelmap so I am not sure cause I didnt like this mapping prgm.) the images are still there, they should delete like dynmap does considering there is an update..

    What you can do look in your mc folder for a file called map writer and see if there are images there, if there is delete them and then it should start a new world basically for the mapping of the prgm.
     
  7. Yusunoha

    Yusunoha New Member

    wouldn't it be possible for these mods to actually write the data to a folder named after the numerical seed rather then the world name?
     
  8. UniZero

    UniZero Popular Member

    There is a folder inside your saves called "mapwriter sp worlds" and if you delete that you will have a fresh map but seems strange that if you delete the world the map data from previous ones are still there because if you delete a world that is it it's gone.
     
  9. Lathanael

    Lathanael New Member

    Changelog from Mapwriter 2.0.14
    The bolded part is from interest here. Hopefully Prof includes this in Opis later on as it would certainly prevent this issue and probably improve memory usage as well.
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2013
  10. UniZero

    UniZero Popular Member

    Yeah it is does use a lot of memory.
     

Share This Page