m.setAutoCollect(true) attempt to call nill

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

internetrush

Jul 29, 2019
Tryng to setup an enchanting turtle, the beginning code is :

m = peripheral.wrap("right") (the crafty part is on the right of the crafting turtle)
m.setAutoCollect(true)

On the auto collect, it fails, attempt to call nil.

Any ideas? Using FTB ultimate.

namiasdf

Jul 29, 2019
From what I have read (I am no expert in CC):

You are trying to call something that doesn't exist, i.e. attempting to call nil. Something is set to nil, that your program is trying to access. It is like calling x if x hasn't been declared.

I reply more later, in a game of HoN

namiasdf

Jul 29, 2019
What is this turtle supposed to do? What does .wrap do and what does calling m with setAutoCollect do?

(I don't know any of the commands, but I do a lot of programming at school, so I might be able to help you debug through intuition)

zilvarwolf

Jul 29, 2019
What is this turtle supposed to do? What does .wrap do and what does calling m with setAutoCollect do?

(I don't know any of the commands, but I do a lot of programming at school, so I might be able to help you debug through intuition)
OP indicated he was making an enchanting turtle. Said turtle has the ability to collect XP orbs and enchant items and books.

Peripheral.wrap() associates the adding device on the specified side to a variable for ease of reference. SetAutoCollect(true) tells the turtle to automatically pick up nearby XP orbs

noobbyte

Jul 29, 2019
i believe you don't need to wrap a crafting table on a turtle as it is a regular computercraft peripheral
EDIT: Nevermind, didn't realize you were referring to the enchanting table since you said "crafty"

bigtwisty

Jul 29, 2019
From what I have read (I am no expert in CC):