Windows .exe Launcher Cannot Update or Download Modpack

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sixdd

Jul 29, 2019
So I downloaded the launcher v1.0.4 and it does not seem to want to do anything. I startup the launcher and it loads okay but then it tells me to update, no sweat click yes to update. After a few seconds the console says

[ERROR] Exception during reading modpackfile
[ERROR] Failed to download launcher update

I have tried to download the latest version of the launcher from the site but the link is dead for me so no joy there.

A few stats for the heck of it:
Windows OS: 7 64-bit
JRE: 7 update 9
RAM: 8GB
Processor: Intel Core2Quad 2.4Ghz

And here is the log on pastebin
This is my first attempt at using the launcher so it is obviously a clean directory and so on.

EDIT: Also thanks in advance for help :)

Meldiron

Jul 29, 2019
Do you use a firewall and anti virus program?
If so, try temporarily disable them before trying to run the launcher.

Sixdd

Jul 29, 2019
I disabled my firewall entirely and I am just running Microsoft Security Essentials, which is about as intrusive as oxygen so it should be fine. Will try to disable the Security Essentials real quick just to test.

NosajDraw

Jul 29, 2019
The launcher needs to take longer before timing out, that way people would not have to disable virus protection. All thats happening is that the JAR/ZIP file is being opened and scanned for threats, all the launcher needs do it wait for this to finish, but it times out too early.

Sixdd

Jul 29, 2019
Same result, log is exactly the same too link
EDIT: This is with zero anti-virus or firewall to block anything so I'm really scratching my noggin' on this one.

NosajDraw

Jul 29, 2019
Do you have a hardware firewall with anti-virus? I've had that cause me problems in the past, I just used the logs to find out what files were stalling, manually downloaded them, and everything was fine.

Meldiron

Jul 29, 2019