Just started an FTB: Infinity Evolved expert mode playthrough. Any tips?

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

TheMagikarpGuy

Jul 29, 2019
So, I started playing this pack a couple of days ago, and I am enjoying it a whole lot. The "hard" recipes are really cool (a bit too much IC2 crafting but w/e), because there is not a whole lot of reasons to rush things and it's great to feel like I can take my time. Currently, I managed to get 4 coke ovens & blast furnaces going, I made a tool forge, I have some earlygame power gen up (450 RF/t from 6 water wheels), and I'm planning to get some magic going, but it's obvious that I am only at the start.

Do you guys have some tips to give to me? For example, what are some mods that it's worth it to dig into? What are some general tips and tricks to make my gameplay fun, and what grinds is it worth it to make (e.g. are bees worth it)?

Thanks for the answers, if I ever get some.

Kel_Co

Jul 29, 2019
Bees can be worth it, but the grind is significantly long. Instead of aiming for an alveary to start with the genetics mod, push through magic bees and get some magic apiaries. They can be confusing to use (don't have as much debug info as apiaries), but when filled with frames and boosted via the mod's thaumcraft / botania methods, can pump out impressive amounts of combs. 2 - 3 running constantly with industrial and imperials can get you enough resources to make your first alveary in under an hour. I've done it the normal way, with 12 hives for each, and trust me, the magic apiaries are the way to go.

Some species to aim for
-diamond
-emerald
-redstone
-lapis
-radioactive (having lots of uranium on hand is very helpful)
-the magic bees with the effects empowering and magnification. (not too hard to get, just let it auto cycle for a while on a node in a jar and you won't need to worry about making a large thaumcraft energized node.)