Gregtech question.

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

Paddy Rodgers

Jul 29, 2019
I've seen a bunch of people who recommend disabling Gregtech. What does Gregtech add, if anything, and what are the advantages to disabling it?

darkdragonsoul99

Jul 29, 2019
I'm far from an expert but from what I can tell greg tech makes some recipes harder I'm not minding that much anymore though I wish NEI would show them. That's the part everyone is complaining about. Greg tech also adds a bunch of extremely advanced machines at the tail end of IC2 I have yet to make it to any of these.

I'm loving the blending of mods greg tech went for like changing the build-craft quarry recipes to require a IC2 diamond drill which requires rail-craft steel. That kind of thing leaves me with the feeling i'm playing with one big mod not a bunch of smaller competing ones.

Reactions: ISibboI

zemerick

Jul 29, 2019
Dark: NEI does show all of the recipes. If it is not for you, your configs are not matching the servers and you should fix this. The first version of the modpack had a problem where they did not match.

OP: Gregtech is highly configurable, so there isn't really a reason to completely disable it. You can change it so it doesn't modify anything else if you wish.

As for pros, the industrial centrifuge is a very interesting mechanic involving separating things into separate components.

Other than that though, its all about adding more extreme endgame. You wont even be able to touch the rest until you are swimming in Iridium. Fusion plants are probably a couple hundred Iridium.

Bibble

Jul 29, 2019
I disable it and factorisation for a couple of reasons:
- They are both entirely new tech trees, and I'd prefer to get to know the mods slowly and properly, rather than being dumped into the whole pack, and not knowing what goes where. It's just my way.