[Direwolf20 1.10.2]: No real lava-based RF generators?

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

Benie76

Jul 29, 2019
Since I started playing Modded Minecraft in the Direwolf20 pack (can't remember when I started), I've went from Coal/Lava/Solar Panel. The 1.7.10 pack was different, going from Coal/Lava/Charcoal/Big Reactor.
Yet in the 1.10.2 pack, lava isn't an option anymore. So, why is Ranged Pumps a thing in the pack when there's no real RF-based lava generator (like the generators from the old Extra Utilities mod)?

I believe someone managed to make these generators as a separate mod, but I don't know if it's updated to the latest. If it is, would it be possible to get this to work with the pack?

In closing, I got lots of coal. But the machines I have (EnderIO and Refined Storage) eat it like candy. I need a virtually infinite source of power that I can just let it sit there and power my entire base (of course connecting it to machines). Now I know lava is finite, but it'll last a lot longer than Coal. Just enough until I can think of a better, renewable power source.

I'm in the early stages of mid game. I think I remember dire saying in his initial Season 8 video about "more mods are coming". I know Thaumcraft's one, but any helpful mods (power-wise) to where I should just pause playing until they come?

Last edited:

Inaeo

Jul 29, 2019
EnderIO Tank can fill buckets with lava. The Stirling Generator can use lava buckets as a solid fuel source. Given the ease of configuring EnderIO machines, it is a simple task to turn Lava into RF using only EnderIO. Better pump options can only make this more effective.

On the other hand, there are a ton of ways to make power. Try looking outside your norm for once. Explore options given to you in the pack that you may not have tried before. Lava has always been effective, but done it once and you've done it a thousand times. Embrace change. Live a little.