Absolutely new to FTB : need help choosing the right pack / what to do first

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here
H

Hexalyse

Hello,

I'm an old Minecraft player (I played it back when it was in beta, and a few years later had a CraftBukkit server with some plugins installed, for me and a few friends). But it's been some days now that the urge to play Minecraft again arose.

I'm still hesitating between a "vanilla" (CraftBukkit+plugins) server, or a modpack. I heard about FTB so many times but never really knew what it was. I just spent a few hours reading about it, watching some videos etc. to get an idea (and it's not the first time I do this actually, I already did a few months or years ago). I like the idea of mods adding industrial machines, automation, etc.

Anyway, now my dilemma is : I'm completely new to FTB and I have no idea what content it adds to the game. It seems like it adds A SHIT-TON OF NEW STUFF. I don't even know every new items added in the newer versions of the vanilla Minecraft. But I like "tech stuff" and I guess modpacks are much more enjoyable than vanilla where you quickly get ore, build a house and... you're done (I always ended up getting free blocks with a plugin and just did construction - creative-mode-style, while a few friends mine every resource the old way - I'm too lazy for that, honestly).

So my question is : What modpack should I start with ? I guess the most popular ones are FTB Beyond, and FTB Direwolf ?
Also : once I've started a game (note that I'll be installing the server on a dedicated server I own), is there a risk I'll be completely overwhelmed with all this content, and not know what I should do, where I should go, etc. ? If so, do you have some advice, or a video series I could watch on Youtube that would be both instructional and entertaining and teach me the basics of the most known mods and what they add ?