IC2 or Thermal Expansion?

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

Normal321

Jul 29, 2019
Hey guys.
I am kinda new to these mods and I saw some people start a new world they start with Thermal Expansion or Industrialcraft 2 and I wanted to know what is more preferable to start with?

Thanks In Advance :)

SilvasRuin

Jul 29, 2019
It's the double yields from ore. There are two other ways to get more yields, but these two can be set up sooner.
Either one requires something to power it, so you'd need an engine (either Stirling or the TE Steam engine to start with) for the Pulverizer OR Induction Smelter, or you'd need a Generator for the Macerator. Both setups require a fair amount of metal and some Redstone. The TE stuff requires Gold, but... when you need to find Redstone either way, Gold isn't going to be far behind. That considered...

The Engine + Pulverizer (or Induction Smelter) combo is cheaper to assemble than the Generator + Macerator, and in my tests, the Pulverizer will get a lot more done with your coal/charcoal than the Macerator will. Since it combines two steps, the Induction Smelter will get much more done than either of them for the same amount of fuel. The Pulverizer also has a 5% or 10% chance for each ore (except Iron) to give you an extra piece of dust for another metal. Gold can be found in Copper, Iron in Tin, Silver in Lead, etc. The Macerator does not get any bonus dust.

The catch with the Induction Smelter is that it requires Sand as a catalyst and it doesn't get the extra dust that the Pulverizer does. Instead it gets slag for smelting into "Rockwool," wool that behaves like stone where fire and explosions are concerned.