Post your starting strategies

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

namiasdf

Jul 29, 2019
Supposed you have been dumped into a new map. Where do you go from there?

What do you look for? Why?

What mods do you aim for? Why?

Curious to see, since I have very little experience "starting".

Moasseman

Jul 29, 2019
Supposed you have been dumped into a new map. Where do you go from there?

What do you look for? Why?

What mods do you aim for? Why?

Curious to see, since I have very little experience "starting".
Build a manshack out of eucalyptus wood if possible. Then going underground for at least few stacks of iron. Aaaaand then wahtever.

LegitNeek

Jul 29, 2019
I usually spend my first few days mining, slowly upgrading my tools as resources allow. The first machinery I build is usually the TE pulverizer and furnace, powered by either hobbyist's steam engines or force engines (mods willing), then get to work processing my ores. Once I've worked my way through all my ores I setup a Tinker's Construct Smeltery and get to work on making the higher-tier tools (occasionally I'll do this before making the prior machinery as you can double some of your ores in the Smeltery). After this I work towards replacing my power generation, replacing pipes with conduits, redstone energy cell etc.

Once I have some power being produced it's time to setup some auto-mining, be it a quarry (which I prefer not to use) or something like Dire's turtle chunk-eater.

Poppycocks

Jul 29, 2019
Yeah, eucaliptus + silver leaf manshack, rock crusher / factorization for ore doubling/tripling, factorization + steam engines for power.

ewsmith

Jul 29, 2019
Yeah, eucaliptus + silver leaf manshack, rock crusher / factorization for ore doubling/tripling, factorization + steam engines for power.
The more convoluted and unnecessarily difficult path. I like. :D

EDIT: Anyone know how to disable these creepy emoticons?