Wrote a bash scripts for updating FTBserverBeyond(not FTBBeyond specific)

W

wgoff194

Hello FeedTheBeast Brethren,

I run a FTB Beyond server and hate the update process. I find moving my personal server from FTB Beyond from its current version to the latest release a real pain. However as a Linux admin I find minor scripting to be rewarding. I have created a 2 script system for staging and making live a new update. I use an AMP/MCMA server setup so I will use this for examples.

---- Warning ------
Although tested in my enviroment. Use of these scripts or dirivatives is at your own risk. Using this script is considered an acknowledgement of this warning. I hold no liability.

Remember Backups are your friend!

There are a number of things that need to be set up one time. To explain I will use the following:
$BasePath - This is the Parent Directory path where your Minecraft server resides (ie /home/AMP/.ampdata/instances/MCMA/
$StagingPath - This is the directory inside $BasePath for staging (ie mc-staging in /home/AMP/.ampdata/instances/MCMA/)
$BackupPath - This is the Directory the current live site will be backed up to (ie mc-backups in /home/AMP/.ampdata/instances/MCMA/)
$Extramods - Location of Mods not typically included in your FTB pack (ie $StagingPath/mc-extramods
$FTBType - This is the FTB Pack in use (ie FTBBeyondServer found in the name of the zip file FTBBeyondServer_1.9.0.zip)
$FTBVersion - The version of the FTB pack (ie 1.9.0 as seen in the name of the zip file, in this script a pront will ask for this)
$World - Name of your world directory
One time must setup:
A directory for $StagingPath will need to be created prior to use of script
A directory for $BackupPath will need to be created prior to use of script
If using additional mods the $Extramods folder and its subfolders (see spoiler below) will need to be created in the $StagingPath directory
Example of Extramods
/home/AMP/.ampdata/instances/MCMA/mc-staging/mc-extramods/