What Pack would you recommend? Been away from the game for a while

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

Redweevil

Jul 29, 2019
As the title says its been a fairly long time since I've played any FtB or Minecraft in general. What pack would you recommend I play now there are so many to choose from?

mattp_12

Jul 29, 2019
As the title says its been a fairly long time since I've played any FtB or Minecraft in general. What pack would you recommend I play now there are so many to choose from?
First of all, what are your computer specs? We should have a bit of an insight about that before we recommend big packs such as infinity, etc.

Keldin42

Jul 29, 2019
I am having a blast playing Obscurity (3rd party pack, winner of the jampacked 2 contest).

jazzadellic

Jul 29, 2019
I'm fairly new to MC, but ftb infinity seems to have it all: tech, magic, tons of useful little mods for every thing you can imagine. I've probably put 50+ hours into my infinity game and barely scratched the surface of the content in that modpack. It has been getting progressively laggier though as my base has gotten bigger and my tech tree has gotten farther. The first modpack I played was actually direwolf20, which is also very jam packed with magic and tech like infinity, you can't go wrong either I think, but I think infinity is slightly more jam packed with stuff than DW20. I've been trying out various modpacks and each one has it's own unique flavor and challenge, so you may just want to try out several of them including some of the third party packs like Obscurity, Blast Off, etc...I find some of them like Obscurity to be just too difficult and unforgiving for me to enjoy them. For example Obscurity...you start with 5 lives but one single creature sneaking up behind you or one ranged enemy early in the game can cause you to chain die easily because you start with one interdiction torch, and if you die and drop it far from the s