Thermal Expansion Suggestions?

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here
  • FTB will be shutting down this forum by the end of July. To participate in our community discussions, please join our Discord! https://ftb.team/discord

iiRag3Kniif3

Jul 29, 2019
So I'm fairly new to FTB, I've watched some LPs of FTB but they're all using pretty much IC or BC. I was wondering if someone could send me a link/screenshots of a good power supply that is fairly easy to get when you're first starting out.

I'm wanting to start a server with my clan but I don't want to re-do all my factories with IC to get all that energy, and I've heard TE is more power for cheaper costs.

So i just need a basic, good power supplier but semi-cheap. Screenshots or links are good

danny75

Jul 29, 2019
i'll post some screenshots when i get back on my server...but in the meantime i would say this. TE gives you MJ, IC2 (and add-ons) give you EU. you'll need both, especially if Gregtech is on your radar. But for ore processing, i would set up with TE machines. You can also store excess MJ in energy storage cubes that are mobile and can be used to power anything requiring MJ.

for the ore refining...i have all ores being fed into a line of pulverisers sitting on top of powered furnaces. Configure the machines so the dusts are automatically fed into the furnace for smelting. i then have a chest in front on each furnace to store the ingots. the machines themselves are powered by magmatic engines supplied with lava (from the nether). I can add empty energy storage cubes to the conduit pipes to soak up unused power. they hold 500k MJ each, and the output (MJ/t) can be adjusted according to the machine it is hooked up to.

SilvasRuin

Jul 29, 2019