Power Control Suggestion? (Computer craft or ?)

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

XLT_Frank

Jul 29, 2019
I have a few stacks for power generation that I am wanting to automate. Attached is a picture of what they look like and I thought I would install a Redstone Energy Cell on top of each stack. When the cell depletes below 25%, the stack of engines below it will turn on and run until 100%. This is phase one.

Phase two will involve computer craft I am sure of that (or maybe player detection modules) to shed power to equipment that is non essential.

Thoughts on the best method for the engine control? I am not good with Computer Craft even though I program. It is a bit different then only school that I am used to using.

2014-04-13_09.32.55 - Copy.png

Thanks!
Frank

Wagon153

Jul 29, 2019
Ender IO has a pretty good power controller(although you would need to replace your conduits with the Ender IO ones and use Ender IO capacitor banks for best results). You can set it to emit redstone when power levels are either above or below a certain amount, and will also tell you the total amount of power in your system, including in the conduits.

Reactions: Padfoote

XLT_Frank

Jul 29, 2019
I should have said that I am on a Direwolf20 1.0.20 configured server, so no Ender IO.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk

Wagon153

Jul 29, 2019
Well in that case, you can use a comparator to tell if the cell is full. And energy cells make block update detectors go nuts when either full or empty I think if you wanna put that to use.

XLT_Frank

Jul 29, 2019
So the engines would always try to maintain 100%, correct? I think I just need to bite down on the computer craft bullet.

Dreossk

Jul 29, 2019