FTB Monster server hardware specs

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here
  • FTB will be shutting down this forum by the end of July. To participate in our community discussions, please join our Discord! https://ftb.team/discord

Marsruben

Jul 29, 2019
Hey! Im in need of help regarding server hosting. I've been hosting a server using Creeperhost, but I feel its way to expensive so I decided to buy a server for myself instead and host at home.
I was wondering if a server like this would be good to host a FTB Monster server with 50 people and machines running etc.

Processor: Intel I7-2600
Harddrive: 120gb SSD, 500gb HDD.
Memory: 8gb (Can be upgraded to 12-16gb)

Internet download 20gbits. internet upload 10gbits.

Vasa

Jul 29, 2019
i believe this could run that server.but dont believe me im not an expert..

ThatOneSlowking

Jul 29, 2019
It should be fine, but if you get like 10 players chunkloading different areas and the TPS starts going down add some more RAM

Marsruben

Jul 29, 2019
Thank you for the replies guys! : )

So the only thing needed is RAM then : )

While I'm at it, is there anything special I should ban or disable mods? This is going to be a public 50 player server : )

Vasa

Jul 29, 2019
at the beggining you should leave all items and then track people to see if they exploit things or if something can screw up server..

ThatOneSlowking

Jul 29, 2019
I only suggest disabling things that can crash the server, IMO it is ridiculous to make exploitive things disabled unless it is meant to be a challenge (GregTech or Igauna Tweaks server, or even AS or MF2) since some people enjoy having the exploits around and it may drive some people away

Marsruben

Jul 29, 2019