Forestry basic concepts (complete noob warning)

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here
T

TheLittlei

Warning: the following content may drive experienced foresters crazy with my absolutely noob Forestry knowledge. If you can control your temper please continue reading and help me out. Thanks a lot! :D

Really need to put that warning here as I know nothing - I mean absolutely nothing about Forestry. Anyway, how I started this mod is I found a quest tab titled bees and trees in agrarian skies 2 and I am very interested to check that out. I did a little bit of research, watching wiki and stuff, while learning through the quest book and me figuring things out. As a result, things is a lot more complicated than I originally expected. And I am quite lost now.

I got a centrifuge, squeezer and carpenter set up, connected to my lava generator. I got an artificial hive after covering it with seed oil, which I couldn't figure out what it was doing. Then I got an apiary with a meadow princess and a meadow drone in it (I got a beelizer and some hives which I could scoop). I provided some flowers for the bees to do their work. That's all I have done.

A few questions here:
1. What does the artificial hive from Ex Nihlo do? I can't figure it out by any means.
2. How do you get combs? There is something that looks like a screen for the combs to go to in my quest book, I would assume you need them to get combs (it kinda makes sense in real life)

Thanks!

Pyure

Not Totally Useless
Aug 14, 2013
Waterloo, Ontario
1) In "normal" modded minecraft + forestry, hives are found naturally throughout the world as part of worldgen. The "artificial" hives simply allow players to enjoy bees in a skyblock map or any other map that doesn't naturally produce bees. To use it, place it into seed oil, then place the scented block on the ground for a while.