AE2 Simple and efficient ME Controller setup

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

Bob Smith

Jul 29, 2019
I designed this ME controller which supports 16 P2P tunnels for a total of 512 channels - which for most modest setups is plenty of channels. I wanted to have everything on the same network, be symmetrical, and have some unused faces to be aesthetically pleasing on my "Applied Energistics wall". It only uses 5 controller blocks, and I purposely wanted to use exactly 16 tunnels so that I could use the colored cable - to make it much easier to identify which tunnels are linked to each other.

I just wanted to share this because I was searching for something like this and couldn't find it. I'm very new to AE2, so I'm sure there are much more efficient setups. I just wanted to know what you guys thought of it. Here are some pictures (hopefully they show up eventually - this is just my first post, and I think they) :

Layout of the 5 controllers :

DLQe4Bx

Next, place a different colored dense cable (EXCEPT fluix) on all the faces shown here - and a p2p tunnel on the end of each of the 16 dense cables. You will leave 5 blank faces on the "front" (these exposed ME controller block faces will be used for aesthetic purposes and for the "master" terminals) and one blank face on the "back" (will be used to provide the channels for all 32 p2p ends (16 tunnels)). Here are two pictures that show which controller faces get cables and p2p tunnels :

hYHNtU1

kVcoYbe

The blank face on the back is also where I got the power to the controllers. I set it up like this - and I used FLUIX dense cable here - this is important for later. Be sure to use cable anchors to prevent it from connecting to any other cables - as fluix will connect to any color (which is why this is important for later). Here is a pic of this step :

FWnM3cP