ELI5: Ore Dictionary expanded or "Why can't forge handle the ore generation?"

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

Acediar

Jul 29, 2019
Without any potential baggage or any knowledge about the question I wanted to ask why, even though most mods featured in FTB/FTB affiliated mod packs, require forge and integrate with the Ore Dictionary we still have multiple versions for ores, ingots and nuggets for commonly used metals like tin, copper or bronze.

Most of the time it doesn't really matter since most recipes can use all ore types, but if you store them in a chest or any storage system like AE they end up using different slots or spaces.

So why can't the ore dictonary handle this for us? I have little to no knowledge about java programming and mod development so if there is an obivous reason I am overlooking PLEASE correct me!

As far as I understand during the early phases mods check if other mods are installed, to me it would seem logical at this point for mods to check "Is forge installed? - Yes - I turn off my own versions of the ingots/nuggets/etc and use the forge versions"

There are currently 4 versions of the common (3 copper + 1 tin) bronze ingots
  • Bronze Ingot - Tinkers' Construct
  • Tinker's Alloy Ingot - Tinker's Construct (shouldn't it be Tinkers' Alloy?)
  • Bronze Ingot - IndustrialCraft 2
  • Bronze Ingot - Forestry
in the current DW20 modpack which you get depending on mod which added the recipe, which clutters my storage system due to not stacking. Most of the time you can even convert them by reducing them to nuggets or blocks and recrafting ingots.

Wouldn't it be possible to consolidate them into one block which gets used in every recipe and which is the output for every furnace?

HeffronCM

Jul 29, 2019