Stop mobs spawning over a large area (DW20)

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

ksbd

Jul 29, 2019
So, my main project as of late, is making an underground village. I always seem to get caught up in the technical side of FTB and forget that you can make some pretty good-looking stuff in it - it's not all about machines and gizmos. The problem I'm having however, is that I've been trying to make use of lighting effects - keeping some areas dark, or barely lit in order to add depth. Of course, this makes the entire area rather attractive for aggressive mobs.

I'm not sure of the areas dimensions. I'd guess it's anywhere between 75x75x20 to 200x200x30. I was wondering if, other than playing in peaceful, or lighting up the whole area, is there any way to prevent mob spawns? I thought maybe mffs, but I've never used the mod before, and not sure if a forcefield could encompass the entire area.
Anyone got any suggestions? (Energy/resources aren't an issue, I'm pretty late-game)

Attachments

• 2013-05-12_23.34.06.png
    2013-05-12_23.34.06.png
    738.3 KB · Views: 223
  • 2013-05-12_23.34.27.png
    2013-05-12_23.34.27.png
    831.2 KB · Views: 215

lavarthan

Jul 29, 2019
That is good if you have that many Xycraft blocks (you may I do not have Xycraft installed). Another option is bottom half slabs. They hopefully do not look too weird to you. Top half slabs or two slabs together will allow for spawning. Bottom slabs only will not. The only problem is the dropped down look compared to other parts of the village.

Moezso

Jul 29, 2019
IIRC mobs will not spawn on microblocks, transparent blocks, and as said above Xycraft blocks and bottom slabs. Now that I think about it, I'm guessing mobs only spawn on blocks they're coded to spawn on, so unless mods change that code, they probably only spawn on those vanilla blocks they're programmed to. Bear in mind that last sentence is only a guess.