FTB Infinity Evolved -- Applied Energistics 2 Autocrafting -- Channels Problem

Brotuulaan

Jan 14, 2018
I'm new to AE2, and I'm having a hard time understanding how exactly the system connects and uses channels.

I know that the system looks at attached devices and assigns each one a channel, and the smart/dense cables show how many channels are traveling through any given block of that cable.

I also know that AE2 blocks transmit power and channels through each other if they're touching--at least to some extent.

I'm trying to figure out how people make those autocrafting blocks with the molecular assemblers and interfaces, and this is where I'm running into problems.

The MindCrafters made a nice tut series on AE2, and in part 3 (on autocrafting) at about 8 mins, he says that putting a single cable on the 3x3x3 cube "lights up" the whole cube. I wondered if he's talking only about the assemblers and ignoring the interfaces, as the one uses no channels while the other does per device. A 3x3x3 cube as he has it set up has 14 interfaces and would require 14 channels. But this is where I discovered my problem.

Dense cables don't seem to transmit their full 32 channels to blocks, only to other dense cables. When I connect a dense cable to the center of one face of the cube, the connection shrinks to a smart cable size/display scheme and shows only 8/32 channels used. I have to connect extra cables to reach all 14 interfaces. But even a second dense cable placed on a bottom corner only picks up 2 more channels instead of the other 6. If I instead add the second cable above the first (center top of face), then it picks up the rest of the 6 channels for a total of 14.