Having issues with spawning mobs

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

TheAccountant_

Jul 29, 2019
Hi folks. I recently started playing FTB Infinity Evolved on expert mode. I'm trying to create a mob spawner (vanilla style) at y=250. It's 3 high with slabs for a roof and the room is 18x18. I use fans to blow mobs into a 3x3 pit in the center, dropping 45 blocks (where my "AFK point" is also located). The y level is 70 on average below me, leaving more than 128 blocks to the surface. I've hit F7 to make sure that every block within the room is spawnable (floor is grass).

My question is, why won't mobs ever spawn in there? I've run the /cofh killall command to eliminate all hostile entities. Once run, one or two mobs might spawn in the room. However, spawns stop after that. I run the command again, and another 80 hostile entities are killed. How is this possible? I thought hostile mobs wouldn't spawn more than 128 blocks away from a player (I'm on a solo world).

Appreciate any insight you guys can give.

Edit: I created a superflat world on creative with the exact same spawner - works fine.

Here's a link to my F3 if it helps at all. http://imgur.com/a/DQY4X

Last edited:

Cptqrk

Popular Member
Aug 24, 2013
45 block drop seems a bit far away to me...

Sent from a mystical device from North of the 49th

ChemE

Jul 29, 2019
What biome type is the mob spawner in? Not mushroom island right?

TheAccountant_

Jul 29, 2019
What biome type is the mob spawner in? Not mushroom island right?

Regular ole plains biome. I wandered around the overworld for a bit today (was searching for sand) and it was night time - mobs spawned EVERYWHERE.

On a slightly different topic, I also went into the Nether for the first time and crashed twice after a few minutes each time. Third time no problem for approximately double the time of the first two attempts. Sort of wondering if my world could somehow just be bugged out?