Server Lag

Bigredpit

Jul 29, 2019
I just recently created a server on an old computer that I have. The server was intended to hold 3-4 people at one time. When 3 people logged onto the server it had severe block lag and just general lag. I tried changing the startup code, but I am not very good at programming so that helped the lag but didn't fix it. Here is the code I found online: java -Xmx1200M -Xms1200M -jar mindcrack.jar --nojline PAUSE. I was just wondering if anyone could help me with this problem. I would also be willing to take a few mods off of the server if that is necessary. My computer specs are below:

Processor: 2.80 GHz Processor
RAM: 4GB
Storage: 135GB
Operating System: Windows XP Professional Service Pack 3

DZCreeper

Jul 29, 2019
Also, more info is needed about the actual specs of that computer. How many cores is it, what's the exact processor? Is it a Solid State Drive or a traditional Hard Disk Drive? Is it 32 or 64 bit? Is it a laptop or desktop?

Ideally, it would be be a recent Intel processor thats 2 or more cores, with a SSD. If its 64 bit, then make sure to use 64 bit java. Also keep in mind that desktops are usually more powerful than laptops.

Not to further rain on the awesome parade that is Minecraft, but the machine simply may be underpowered for Minecraft, its a rather demanding application.

TheSandwichMakr

Jul 29, 2019
I'm guessing the issue is your internet speed. Go to speedtest.net on the computer running the server and post the result here.

Bigredpit

Jul 29, 2019
The computer is a Dimension 9100, which is a desktop. The processor is an Intel Pentium D 2.80GHz and it is a 32-bit machine running windows. Also I have successfully hosted a normal Minecraft server without any problems. Here is my speed test: http://www.speedtest.net/result/2458037382.png

2458037382.png

DZCreeper

Jul 29, 2019
Hardware seems to be the problem. That is fairly underpowered, heavily modded Minecraft is a lot more demanding than normal Minecraft.