[1.7.10] [HQM] Breath of the Wild - Yes, the title is from Zelda

sknif

Jul 29, 2019
Since FTB doesn't have many RPG-packs, I thought I could do one. This is just a concept, please provide feedback, if you are interested. I'm not very good with words (no native speaker), so I will just present you the mods and why they are here.

Zelda Sword Skills
RPG attempts in Minecraft fail imho because of Minecraft's combat. ZZS improves exactly that. It also adds lot's of items from the Zelda games, dungeons and villager quests. Definitely the most important mod here. Also farming hearts is good for abnegation, a core aesthetic of rpgs.

Natural Absorbtion
I will use this to replace armor with absorbtion hearts. This removes the ability to tank anything brainlessly. You can still get more hearts with ZSS and TConstruct, but they are not as good as armor in long battles.

TConstruct
TConstruct improves the build variety. It's also important because of it's world generation features, which improve exploration.

Adventurer's Amulets
Like TConstruct it improves build variety and gives the player more tools to solve combat problems.

HQM
RPGs are a good source for abnegation. HQM serves as a guide, a task giver and an easy checklist. You can turn your brain off and just do quests. They won't be grindy, they will engage the player to explore.

Project Zulu
It improves minecraft's ambience with new mobs. Also adds a couple of good dungeons. It gives the world life, which improves the fantasy feel.

Witchery
ZSS depends on villagers for quests. Witchery makes villages more frequent, improves build variety and improves world gen. Also adds new crops, minecrafters love farming. The magic of witchery provides a great fantasy feel

Primitive Mobs
adds many new hostile mobs with interesting mechanics. Makes the world more alife and improves the fantasy feel. Also adds a little quest and travelling merchants where you can use your Emeralds from ZSS.

Battle Towers