Reactor Planner - can I rely on it?

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

MrZwij

Jul 29, 2019
I'm just getting started playing with nuclear power, so as is my way I'm trying to fully grok it before actually doing it.

I found Talon's Reactor Planner site, but I'm not sure if it's actually up-to-date. For example, the site says this design will run a full cycle, but when I recreate it in a test world, the overclocked heat vents burn up in about 5 seconds. Is there something I'm missing?

So a.) is the planner valid anymore and b.) does anyone have a link to reliable reactor info that will work with FTB?

Bibble

Jul 29, 2019
I believe that there is a bug in IC2 with multiple uranium cells (dual and quad) producing more heat/power than they should (basically running a cycle in half the time, I think). The planner is based on how things should be, though.

MrZwij

Jul 29, 2019
Thanks! I now remember scrolling past that bug mentioned on the IC2 wiki, but I didn't make the connection. I'll stick with single cells for now I guess.

MrZwij

Jul 29, 2019
OK, yeah, I'm a moron. I put quad cells in that design where it called for double. Doh. :confused:

thedeester1

Jul 29, 2019
Thanks for pointing me to this!!!! Ive been playing (probably not the best word) with reactors for a about 5 days. My first single chamber went BOOM and took with it the quarry I made with my first 11 hard dug Diamonds. I was wondering why my cooling cells wouldnt regenerate....Now I know.

It seems my power needs are well within my current resources if planned properly. Will be firing that bad boy up a bit later and as always keeping a carefull eye on it for the first few hours. It seems all I need at the moment is a Mark I ED! Gonna be playing with that tool a bit till I get my remote thermal monitor working. Then Ill probably blow up my world (Again) LOL.