Question about wooden waterproof pipes extracting from iron tanks.

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

Strubinator

Jul 29, 2019
Ok, so I am fairly new to FTB, and decided to mess around in creative mode to familiarize myself with some things.
I made a HP boiler, as large as I could make it, fed by coal coke. The steam feeds two turbines at 100%, and the rest fills up two 7x7x8 steam tanks. The tanks filled up pretty quick, about 30 min. When I tried to pump out the steam, it was rather disappointing. I had a few waterproof wooden pipes connected to about 4 valves on the bottom row, powered by industrial steam engines, and then electrical engines, piping the steam to a turbine. The steam engines produced so much excess power they exploded. But even with several electrical engines I only got a trickle of steam from the tank. Is there a limit on how much liquid a wooden pipe or valve can handle? Id like to note that they were connected to gold waterproof pipes, as they should be.
Whats the best way to extract fluid from the iron tanks? No point in stockpiling steam or biofuel on my legit worlds if I cant even get enough to power the boiler and steam engine.
I would like to know what I am doing wrong. The boiler is prefectly fine, half temperature and producing more than enough steam to power what I will need, the problem is getting the excess steam out of the tanks for later use in a reasonable amount.

Squigie

Jul 29, 2019
Gold waterproof pipes have 4 times the capacity of other pipes, and steam is used in such large amounts that is difficult to store effectively. A redstone engine or autarchic gate is sufficient pump a wooden waterproof pipe at max speed, but that is only enough steam to produce 2 MJ/t in a RC steam engine.

Other liquid fuels (fuel, biofuel, lava, etc.) are consumed at a much slower rate, including in a liquid firebox, so storing them in tanks is useful.

jammiewins

Jul 29, 2019