New to FTB

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

GreatWhite000

Jul 29, 2019
Hello,

I never played Tekkit, and I just started playing FTB last night. I have finally made myself a quarry and the needs to power it (a stirling engine), but when I went into a creative world to mess around, I couldn't figure out how to hook up my quarry to an MFSU or Ultimate Hybrid Solar Panel. Any help?

Mikey_R

Jul 29, 2019
The energy from the MFSU and Solar panels are different from the energy that the Quarry needs. For the record, the MFSU and other items from the IC2 mod use EU and Buildcraft uses MJ.

Now, you can convert between them, to go from EU to MJ you need to make an electrical engine. In general, all engines will produce MJ, so if you want MJ, just look up engines.

SilvasRuin

Jul 29, 2019
Generator is a keyword for IC2 power, or Electrical Units (EU). as Mikey_R pointed out, Engines is a keyword for Minecraft Joules (MJ). EU is used for "industrial machines", which are typically a standard light gray. MJ is used for the distinct appearance Forestry farms and devices (you'll get used to recognizing them), most of the various mining/construction machines (use gears in their recipes), the Thermal Expansion machines (darker gray with colored slots on all but their face sides, very distinct) and anything involving the pipes. The two major exceptions are the Electrical Engine which converts EU to MJ, and the Biofuel Generator, which uses plant (by)products (often produced in surplus by Forestry) to produce and burn a specific fuel for EU generation. For another conversion option, MJ can be used to power a Magma Crucible which can produce Lava for powering a Geothermal Generator, though this is normally very inefficient.