MultiMC removing FTB and Curse integration

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

InsaneJ

Jul 29, 2019
I just saw that the latest build of MultiMC is dropping support for FTB by request of Slowpoke. See change on Github:

Did a little bit of searching but couldn't find the reason for this. I've been using MultiMC for many years and was really happy to see support for FTB packs added so now I'm sad to see that support is being dropped.

This is not meant to rant or complain. I've really enjoyed the FTB integration with MultiMC and am grateful for it while it lasted. I'm just curious. May I ask what the reason is that MultiMC has to remove FTB and Curse integration? Does anyone know?

Scourge012

May 22, 2022
Not necessarily a big mystery...OverWolf is corporate. They get ad revenue based on how many people see or view their various apps. If enough users DON'T use a particular app they've partnered with, they might drop support. Since the FTB team is partnered with them, they have a vested interest in driving users to the FTB App. "Best" way to do that is to systematically request that other launchers just not feature their mod packs so we all use the FTB official App through OverWolf.

krustymk

Jul 29, 2019
Im even more determined not to use curseforge after recent events. I understand they want to make money but they need to find a better way!

Reactions: GamerwithnoGame

TigerSven

Jul 29, 2019