Intro, and the map/mod pack that never was.

Freedbot

Jul 29, 2019
*click, bzzzz, whrrrr* systems online

I am the Freedbot. I played Minecraft for about three days back before the nether was added, then invariably I decided it was too boring and forgot about it for years. Then I stumbled across Yogscast's and Direwolf20's videos. I played a few mod packs here and there and learned the mods. Occasionally I threw together some mods on my own but didn't really put any effort into it, mostly I just added and removed a couple mods from existing packs. I then tried out the technic group of packs. This quickly cemented in my mind a policy of NEVER using a mod pack ever again. I knew I could do a better job with the configuration myself. I started playing Minecraft with a couple friends on a more regular basis using my own private pack of mods and hosting the server myself on my Linux box. It was all fun and games until inevitably the mod complexity and purely coop style of play on normal random maps (we never had enough people on at once to come up with any really good competitive play) lead to their A.D.D. kicking in and quitting Minecraft. :'(

Then I made a brief exception to the no mod pack rule and tried out the second iteration of the FTB map. The one that ACTUALLY had two competitive teams. I had a blast. I determined to make my own map to make it compatible with my own setup, tweak the start, and generally purdify the map. Around the stage I had the layout and decor all placed and the tubes and chests setup and had JUST started the wiring... The next version came out, with it's own style and a MASSIVELY rehashed challenge/reward setup for extra challenge. I watched a "let's play" and decided not to play it due to my friends lack of interest, the fact that there was never a competitive version, all the creeper explosion breakage that it suffered from, and mostly because I confess I don't like working with bees. :mad: