Opinions wanted on "best" initial setup for me

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

ZROGST

Jul 29, 2019
As title says, looking for your opinion on the best (most efficient in terms of resources and time with highest quality results) way I should start a settlement with the FTB mod pack. I'm new to mods in general, but have spent a few hours looking over the wikis in preparation for my play.

I recently started on an SMP server and found a great spot to settle on the edge of a Savannah, with a thick Jungle and Snow Wasteland (complete with NPC village and large NPC farmplots) within walking distance. Now I need to start gathering materials to build my home. While I don't have a lot of knowledge of new blocktypes, I think I am aiming for a wood (logs and planks of all kinds) and glass house, covered in a natural-looking rooftop garden.

I've built some stone tools and gathered an initial supply of logs (I am running on charcoal at the moment) I've begun mining ores in some of the surface tunnels nearby.

What is the best way to start gathering wood and glass resources for building? I know sand is a byproduct for some of the forestry machines, for example. I will also need a fair amount of dirt to cover the building after it's built.

SilvasRuin

Jul 29, 2019
Stirling Engine + a Pulverizer gets you 200% yields from metal ores and is cheaper to make than a Generator + Macerator. The Pulverizer will also get an extra bit of dust to smelt from metal ores. It requires two Gold ingots, but if you find Redstone, Gold won't be far behind. Both the Pulverizer and Macerator can turn Cobblestone into Sand. The Sawmill is from the same mod as the Pulverizer, which means it's convenient to use both, and will give you 6 planks per wood and 1 charcoal per 8 wood in the form of Sawdust.