So just for a challenge, i'm living in the Nether

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

malicious_bloke

Over-Achiever
Jul 28, 2013
Prolly been done to death by everyone already, but i've never done it before.

I'm setting up my usual collection of machines and stuff, but it does provide some interesting challenges.

Water is the main one. Usually I put down infinite water sources under most machines that need it (of which there are many), also irrigation for crops etc.

I can use a pump in a lake with a couple of tesseracts to get around part of this and B'o'P blood works for crop irrigation so it's not insurmountable.

The thing that's annoying me at the moment is the inability to sleep in a bed in my Nether base. Any time I die I end up back in the overworld. Not sure if there's a workaround for this without hax...

Someone Else 37

Forum Addict
Feb 10, 2013
For another Nether sleeping workaround, you could set up a portal in (or near) your Nether base, then set your bed at the Overworld-side portal. If you die, you'll respawn a short portalhop away from your base.

Aquaeuos accumulators may be able to extract a small amount of water from the air in the Nether (or maybe not; I'm not sure); failing that, I'm fairly sure the Dew Point Aggregator from RotaryCraft can, if you've got that mod. At any rate, the Reservoir from EnderIO should work at full speed once you put two buckets of water in it, which you'd need to collect from the Overworld (which it sounds like you're OK doing).

Finally, though you're probably already aware of this or are beyond the point where you'd need it, there's versions of the usual Tinker's Construct smeltery bricks and whatnot made from Nether materials. They're slightly more reddish than the Overworld versions, but should work the same way. And lava is plentiful in the Nether (of course).

Henry Link

Popular Member
Dec 23, 2012
USA - East Coast
giphy.gif

malicious_bloke