Then, than, your, you're

vasouv

Jul 29, 2019
Morning everyone, I may seem like a grammar nazi to you but I really am not, I just need some clarification on the matter because it's confusing some times, I'm not a native English speaker.

So, are these words being used interchangeably nowadays or is it some kind of trend? I've seen (what it seems like) adults use them like so and it baffles me, some times I have to read a sentence twice or more times to understand the meaning. The "your-you're" part I can understand, kids confusing the words but the "then-than" part? I see "than" replacing "then" most of the times lately.

In Greek, we have two spellings for the word "egg" but it's the same word and both spellings sound exactly the same. That's not the case with "then-than", two entirely different words.

My English is not as good as back when I got my Proficiency diploma 8 years ago, I practice it through movies and fora mainly. If something has changed regarding the use of these words, I'd like to know so I can use them accordingly.

I'm sorry if this post seems silly to you but having no other way to communicate in English than Internet fora, I had to ask :)

Reactions: Dravarden

canilsen

Jul 29, 2019
Can someone quickly explain when I'm supposed to use "than", because I always end up using "then" in all thinkable situations. Norwegian btw :)

WTFFFS

Jul 29, 2019