Steve's Carts Tree Farm Arrangement

Bahnmor

Jul 29, 2019
I'm relatively new to using the 'rail' part of Railcraft, and by extension the awesomeness that is Steve's Carts.
I have a nice little tree farm set up with a standard solar and coal engine arrangement, dumping and fuelling from a cargo manager.

I spotted that for fuel it likes to pull out saplings, for which I have other uses lined up. I am interested to see what ways people have come up with to encourage the cart to use other fuels. I like builds I can walk away and leave to run, so I want to get it using the log yield to keep it going at night. There are a few ideas floating around in my head, but I wondered what other people had come up with.

Norfgarb

Jul 29, 2019
put some wood in each of the fuel slots then it shouldn't replace then it should keep all of the slots filled with wood (so long as you are only extracting storage at the cargo manager and not all slots)

QuantumPugilist

Jul 29, 2019
I've never had my cart pull saplings or wood to fuel it, even when I forget to prime it with charcoal. Perhaps change your dump/refuel order, so it drains storage before refueling; though that would add increased complexity since it would refuel from the manager rather than internally.

baw179

Jul 29, 2019
I'm relatively new to using the 'rail' part of Railcraft, and by extension the awesomeness that is Steve's Carts.
I have a nice little tree farm set up with a standard solar and coal engine arrangement, dumping and fuelling from a cargo manager.

I spotted that for fuel it likes to pull out saplings, for which I have other uses lined up. I am interested to see what ways people have come up with to encourage the cart to use other fuels. I like builds I can walk away and leave to run, so I want to get it using the log yield to keep it going at night. There are a few ideas floating around in my head, but I wondered what other people had come up with.