Silk touch or Fortune?

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

Tyler Shellberg

Jul 29, 2019
I have the option of decking out my Ender Quarry with either silk touch or fortune. Which should I use, and why?
(I'm aware of what both do, but I'm still relatively new to 1.7.10 and the mods within infinity, so I'm not sure what mod synergy is best)

Thanks!

knn03

Jul 29, 2019
I always use Silk Touch and process the ores. I'm not 100% on this but I think on average, Fortune 3 yields more products on lapis, redstone, and diamonds than pulverizing. But my vote's for Silk Touch.

GreenZombie

Jul 29, 2019
Silk touch is usually way cheaper to apply to a quarry.
Allows you optionally harvest the ores manually for the XP.
The yield from most mods processing is at least as good as fortune III and consistent to boot.
You can choose to not process the ores immediately and benefit from the more compact storage.

The principal disadvantage is, if quarrying near the surface, you can pick up grass blocks rather than just dirt.

KhrFreak

Jul 29, 2019
I usually go silk touch, it's easier to process with fortune later on, plus fortune 3 on an ender quarry uses a heck of a lot more power then silk touch IIRC

asb3pe

Jul 29, 2019
I always use silk touch. If you want to use fortune, it's easy to setup a few autonomous activators and apply fortune to your ores afterwords.

this. Altho quite honestly, i'm not really even sure you need to run silk touch either. All i run is the top-tier speed upgrade on my Ender Quarry. My argument is that, sure, silk touch can give me more raw materials with some ore processing... but if I really need all that extra stuff, then I'll just run my quarry some more.