Server cmd problem

James Davis

Jul 29, 2019
i am a noob when it comes to this kind of stuff
i am trying to set up a server for me and my friends to play on, but when i launch the .bat file for the server the cmd instantly closes after it opens
i am getting really frustrated with it now, can someone help me

tunnen

Jul 29, 2019
If you edit the batch file then add "PAUSE" to a line at the bottom, the cmd window should stop at a "Press any key." prompt. Which should keep the window open so you could see any command error that was thrown. For example, a failure to locate the system path to Java.

You could also open a command window separately (run cmd.exe) then run the batch file from there. The command window should not auto close upon finishing the batch file.

Above assuming you are using a Windows based computer.

Edit: I can't remember the batch file off the top of my head, but I think it was only one line that calls for Java to launch the server.jar. So that's why I'm going to assume that the actual issue is that the PATH variable isn't set correctly in Windows. (Basically Windows has no idea how to start Java in a command terminal.) If that is the case, check out http://java.com/en/download/help/path.xml

James Davis

Jul 29, 2019
okay, this is what comes up:
c:/Users/james/Desktop/FTBBetaA_server>java -Xmx512m -Xmx1G -jar FTB-Beta-A.jar
'java' is not recognized as an internal or external ocmmand, operable program or batch file.

thanks for the fast reply

tunnen

Jul 29, 2019
That would be the PATH issue I was refering to in my above message.

http://java.com/en/download/help/path.xml

the path to enter would be something similar to "C:\Program Files\Java\bin" making sure to add a semi-colon (;) to seperate from other paths.

"C:\Program Files\Java\bin" would vary depending on where you actually have the Java files installed on your computer.

Otto

Jul 29, 2019