Nicer signs with CC monitors

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

casilleroatr

Jul 29, 2019
Signs are all well and good. They get the job done. But sometimes, you have built a nice futuristic looking room and they look totally out of place. I was motivated to make this computercraft program to solve 2 problems.

1. Make nice looking signs that can be customised
2. Sooth my sorrow for having no nuclear control mod

I call the program multisign, you can find it here:

http://pastebin.com/ZxFQd9b4

(This is a new pastebin link to the one I originally posted. It is functionally the same though except I commented out the program at the bottom. It will still work as an API of course).

I have never written a public API before, so I may not have written it how an API is meant to be written but that is essentially what it is.

I also wrote a small demo program at the end that I forgot to comment out on the upload. I ran that program to make these signs.

2014-05-03_19.11.28.png

There are instructions on how to use the API in the pastebin file.

Edit: I should have included this from the start, but Arkandos has reminded me. If you want to load this as an API to use in your own programs you need to write the following code at the top of your program

Code:
os.loadAPI("multiSignAPI") -- assuming you save this file to multiSignAPI

This loads all of the functions from the API into the instance of CraftOS (computercraft operating system) that runs on that particular CC computer or turtle.

The way it works is you create a table and fill it with new signs. The sign contains data about which monitor to draw the sign on (by monitor side) and a function a long with its arguments which instruct the program how to draw the sign.