New Player needs Guidance

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

Beach

Jul 29, 2019
Hello this is my first time playing Minecraft and a few friends talked me into to playing this modpack with them. Problem is my friends aren't around to help as much as I need and I just don't really know where to go with a lot of the stuff I have gathered. Any kind of new player guidance would be appreciated.

rhn

Too Much Free Time
Nov 11, 2013
Start out with doing some IC2 machines: Electric furnace, macerator etc. Its a nice intro to the modded parts. I was rather confused first time on where to start with the mods. It all seemed so confusing. After setting up a few machines, try some transport pipes. They are really simple and not the most ideal way of automating stuff, but again its a nice intro into how stuff works. Maybe make some basic automated storage system.
No matter what you choose to do, reading wikis is probably the best way of getting info on how stuff works. Mod spotlights can also be a good source of some inspiration on how to use the different items in a mod, but they usually don't go to as much detail as the wikis do. I wouldent reccomend spending time on "Lets plays". The information density of those are usually really low, and its mostly just watching someone else play the basic parts of the game.

Experiment a lot. Look through the NEI and google interesting looking items to figure out how they work.

Reactions: MagusUnion

Kahless61

Jul 29, 2019
2 things:
1) Watch some youtubers and get ideas from them. That's how I got into FTB, and that's how I've always learned new systems.
2) The wiki. http://ftbwiki.org/Feed_The_Beast_Wiki If you ever want to know how something works, what it does, etc, find the wiki page on it. Just type its name in the search box.

Tyrindor

Jul 29, 2019