Magic World - where to start?

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

PixieNinja

Jul 29, 2019
My previous tech-based game of Minecraft relied heavily on IC2 to provide me with ore processing and power generation, along with a good dose of EE for converting waste into what I needed.

Now that I've started a new Magic World game though, I obviously don't have these two crutches to get me through those initial stages. I've already set up home, and started gathering some resources from the environment around me, but I'm not really sure what direction to head in when it comes to getting some stuff automated and some efficient power generation.

I have no experience of TE or Railcraft, and have only had limited interactions with Forestry, hence me sounding like a noob :)

Any suggestions?

Bibble

Jul 29, 2019
If you are looking at getting a firm infrastructure behind you before looking towards the magical research, I'd advise looking towards the steam stages first.

I will typically start out with a hobbyist engine (manually fueled with water and charcoal), which has the added advantage of leaving me with a golden nugget or two spare for wands. Pipe the power into a pulveriser and powered furnace setup (technically a little bit wasteful of energy, compared to an induction smelter, but also doesn't require constant sand fueling, and fill up your inventory with slag).

Once you get your bearings, make a coke oven, and start churning that out at a reasonable rate. It'll produce far faster than the engines use it, so no worry there.

After you manage to get to the nether, hit up a fortress for some blaze powder (or comb the deserts, thank you ThaumCraft), for the fire charges needed for the boilers. Make a simple low pressure 2x2 or 2x3 boiler. That'll give you more than enough steam to run your rapidly growing array of BC-energy consuming machines for processing and production.